VapoCept FAQ: Questions and Answers
Forty-six questions in seven groups. Where the answer is that something was never published to us, that is the answer given.
This page answers 46 VapoCept questions, sorted into seven groups.
The groups are the label, the doses, the claim on the front, taking it, buying and delivery, safety, and this website.
For dosing, go straight to how to take VapoCept.
Everything, by topic
The label
What is VapoCept?
A capsule dietary supplement sold in the United States by Vapoceptdaily as a US stocking partner. One capsule a day, 30 capsules to a bottle, so 30 days. The front of the bottle reads “CLINICAL MEMORY RESTORATION” over the line “FOCUS | CLARITY | ENERGY”.
What is in it?
Seven named ingredients: niacin 7.5 mg NE, calcium 18 mg as calcium carbonate, L-arginine 200 mg, L-arginine AKG 2:1 200 mg, L-citrulline HCl 100 mg, L-citrulline malate 100 mg and beta-alanine 40 mg. That is 665.5 mg declared in total.
Is there a proprietary blend?
No, and it is the best thing about this label. Every ingredient carries its own milligram figure, which means the formula can be assessed directly instead of bounded by arithmetic. Most products in this category do not allow that.
Where do the milligram figures come from?
The seller's written brief, which presents them as the product's published panel. No panel artwork was supplied to this site, so we have not seen the document. We attribute the figures rather than claiming to have transcribed them.
Seven ingredients, or five?
Seven names, five substances. Two entries are arginine in different forms and two are citrulline in different forms. That is a defensible formulation choice and it also makes the ingredient list look longer.
What does “AKG 2:1” mean?
It is a molar ratio: two arginine molecules bound to one alpha-ketoglutarate. PubChem's entry for the 2:1 salt carries the formula C17H34N8O9, which is exactly two arginines plus one AKG. The consequence is that 70.5% of that 200 mg is arginine and the rest is the acid.
What is the Other Ingredients line?
Not supplied. We do not know the capsule material, the excipients or whether there is an allergen statement, and we are not going to guess.
Is the capsule vegetarian?
Unknown. It depends on the capsule shell — gelatin is not vegetarian, HPMC is — and no Other Ingredients line was supplied. A vegetarian seal appears in the marketing assets, which is why the question is worth asking the seller directly.
The doses
Are the doses enough?
For niacin, yes — 7.5 mg NE is 47% of a Daily Value, which is a real nutrient dose. For arginine, citrulline and beta-alanine, no. Each sits between about 10 and 60 times below the lowest dose in its own published literature.
How many capsules would it take to reach a studied dose?
About 10 for the arginine trial, about 15 for the citrulline trial and 60 for the beta-alanine trial. The label says one.
What does a whole bottle contain?
Thirty capsules hold 10.2 g of arginine, 4.7 g of citrulline and 1.2 g of beta-alanine. Measured against the lowest studied daily dose of each, that is about three days, two days and half a day.
Is 200 mg of L-arginine 200 mg of arginine?
For the entry marked “base”, yes. For the AKG entry, no — 200 mg of the 2:1 salt is 140.9 mg of arginine. The two entries together declare 400 mg and deliver 340.9 mg.
Same question for the citrulline?
Same answer. 100 mg of citrulline HCl is 82.8 mg of citrulline. 100 mg of citrulline malate is 72.3 mg at the nominal 2:1 ratio, and less if the real ratio is lower. Together they deliver about 155 mg.
Why does the malate ratio matter?
Because it is not stated, and because published NMR analysis of commercial citrulline malate has found many products missing their stated ratio — most near 1.6:1 and some as low as 1.1:1. At 1.1:1 this entry delivers 59.0 mg rather than 72.3 mg.
Is a small dose always useless?
No. Niacin on this same label is effective at milligrams, and vitamin B12 is effective at micrograms. Potency is a property of the substance. Arginine, citrulline and beta-alanine are all dosed in grams in every trial we could open, and that is a fact about those three substances.
Could absorption make up the difference?
It runs the other way. Oral arginine is heavily metabolised in the gut before it reaches the blood — a 2008 study describes presystemic elimination by intestinal arginase — so the amount arriving is less than the amount swallowed, not more.
The claim on the front
What does “CLINICAL MEMORY RESTORATION” mean?
As a matter of marketing, it means the product is being sold for memory. As a matter of regulation, it is a phrase FDA has not ruled on, and we are not going to tell you it has. What we can do is set out the framework and let you read the label against it.
Is a memory claim allowed on a supplement?
Yes, within limits. The FDA's own guidance gives “mild memory loss associated with aging” as an acceptable structure/function claim, and the 2000 final rule says “a claim to improve memory or strength would be a permitted structure/function claim, unless disease treatment were implied”.
So what is the issue with “restoration”?
FDA's compliance guide says plainly that no adjective is automatically a disease claim, and then names “restore” among words that “might create an implied disease claim if, in the context they are used, they imply an effect on disease”. Context decides it. We are showing you the context, not the verdict.
And “clinical”?
That word has a separate regulator. The FTC's Health Products Compliance Guidance states that “marketers of health-related products must have at least the level of support that they claim to have”, and its worked example treats “clinically tested ingredient” as implying the tests proved the benefit. No trial of this formula was supplied to us.
Where is the FDA disclaimer?
We could not find it. Neither of the two supplied images shows it, and neither shows an asterisk on the claim line. We were given no back panel, so we cannot say it is absent from the product — only that it is absent from everything we were shown.
Does the FDA approve supplements?
No. FDA's own consumer page states that it does not approve dietary supplements before they are marketed. A structure/function claim requires the manufacturer to hold substantiation and to notify FDA within 30 days of first marketing — after, not before.
Taking it
How do I take it?
One capsule daily with an 8 oz glass of water, per the brief. Both supplied listing images print the same instruction.
What time of day?
Not specified anywhere we were given. Where a label is silent this site does not invent an instruction. Taking it at the same time each day matters more than which time.
With or without food?
Not specified. Amino acids are often taken away from a protein meal because they compete for the same transporters, but nothing supplied to this site says so about this product.
Can I take more than one?
The label says one. We are not going to suggest exceeding a stated dose, and it is worth noticing that reaching a studied dose would take 10 to 60 capsules a day, which is not a realistic instruction for anyone to follow.
How long before I know?
The trials behind these ingredients ran from seven days to ten weeks. The seller's own published figure for the most common wait is three to six weeks. Write down a baseline before you start, because your memory of how you felt six weeks ago is the least reliable instrument you have.
What if I miss a day?
Take the next one as normal. Do not double up.
How should I store it?
No storage instruction was supplied. Cool, dry and out of direct light is the general practice for capsules, and it is labelled here as general practice rather than as this label's instruction.
Buying and delivery
What does it cost?
$158 for two bottles, $207 for three and $294 for six — $79, $69 and $49 a bottle. That is $2.63, $2.30 and $1.63 a day.
Is there a single bottle?
Not supplied. The packs start at two.
What is the guarantee?
60 days from purchase on the sales and info page, claimed by ringing the order desk with the order ID. Note that it runs from purchase rather than delivery, which is a shorter window than it sounds.
How much is shipping?
Not published to this site. It appears at checkout, and we do not print figures we were not given.
How long does delivery take?
Not published. Orders ship from the United States unless the sales page says otherwise, and tracking arrives in the order email.
How do I get a refund?
Ring the order desk with the order ID. Send full name, email and order ID with the return to 111 8th Avenue, Floor 7, New York, NY 10011. Buyer pays return postage; use tracking.
How long does a refund take?
Three to five business days for the seller to credit it after they receive the return, then five to ten days for your card to show it.
Safety
Is it safe?
The amounts here are small — that is the whole finding of this site — and small amounts of well-studied amino acids are unlikely to cause harm in a healthy adult. That is not the same as a safety assessment, and we have no certificate of analysis to speak to what is actually in the capsule.
Can I take it with blood pressure medicine?
Ask a pharmacist first. Arginine and citrulline work through nitric oxide, which lowers blood pressure, and anything else doing the same belongs in that conversation — nitrates especially. Take the bottle with you.
Will it make me tingle?
Almost certainly not. Paraesthesia is beta-alanine's known side effect and it appears at gram doses. This label declares 40 mg.
Will the niacin make me flush?
Unlikely. Flushing from nicotinic acid is described from about 30 to 50 mg upward and this declares 7.5 mg NE. The label does not say which form of niacin it uses.
Are there allergens?
Unknown. No Other Ingredients line was supplied, and excipients are where an allergen would be.
Should I take this for memory problems that worry me?
Please see a clinician first. Thyroid function, B12 status, sleep apnoea, medication side effects, hearing loss and depression all present as memory complaints and all have treatments. The National Institute on Aging states that no vitamin or supplement is currently recommended for preventing cognitive decline.
This website
Who publishes this?
Vapoceptdaily, the US stocking partner that sells the product. We benefit if you buy, which is a conflict of interest and is stated here rather than buried.
Why does a seller publish arithmetic like this?
Because it is checkable. The milligrams are the seller's own published figures and the trial doses are cited. Anyone can redo the division, so there is no version of this page that survives being wrong.
Do you publish customer reviews?
We publish the seller's review figures as the seller's, with an audit of the sample text we were given. No review or rating schema is emitted on any page of this site, so no star rating from us appears in a search result.
How do I report an error?
Email the editorial inbox with the page and the sentence. Corrections are made on the page with the date.
The five questions people should ask and mostly do not
The questions above are the ones we are asked. These five would change a buying decision, and almost nobody asks them.
- Is the declared weight the substance weight?
- On four of the five amino acid entries here, no. 200 mg of arginine AKG is 140.9 mg of arginine. Across the label it costs about 104 mg.
- What ratio is the citrulline malate?
- Not stated, and it swings the citrulline figure between 56.6 and 72.3 mg. Published analysis has found commercial material missing its stated ratio, most near 1.6:1.
- How many capsules would reach the studied dose?
- Ten, sixteen and sixty, for arginine, citrulline and beta-alanine. It is the fastest way to see what a label is actually offering.
- Does the guarantee run from purchase or delivery?
- Purchase, here. That is shorter than most, and it is the detail buyers most often assume the other way.
- Has the finished formula been tested?
- Not that we were told, and the front of the bottle uses the word “clinical”.
Every one of those five is answerable from a label plus arithmetic, or from one phone call. That is the argument for reading a back panel before a product page.
If your question is not here
Order questions go to the order desk in the footer, Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time. Questions about this website go to the editorial inbox. Questions that come up more than once get added to this page.
See the VapoCept packs
Two, three or six bottles, priced plainly, with a 60-day window that runs from purchase. Read the capsule count first, then decide.
Shipping is calculated at checkout. This site publishes no figure it was not given.
References
Every source below was opened and read during this build. Nothing here cites a study we did not read, and no identifier on this site was written from memory. Where a claim could not be verified, the page says so instead of using it.
- U.S. Government Publishing Office21 CFR 101.93 — Certain types of statements for dietary supplements — eCFR.gov · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationSmall Entity Compliance Guide on Structure/Function Claims — FDA.gov · source
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration — 2000Regulations on Statements Made for Dietary Supplements Concerning the Effect of the Product on the Structure or Function of the Body, final rule — 65 Federal Register 1000 · 65 FR 1000 · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationGuidance for Industry: Substantiation for Dietary Supplement Claims Made Under Section 403(r)(6) — FDA.gov · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationQuestions and Answers on Dietary Supplements — FDA.gov · source
- U.S. Federal Trade Commission — 2022Health Products Compliance Guidance — FTC.gov · source
- National Institute on AgingCognitive Health and Older Adults — NIA.NIH.gov · source
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthDietary Supplements and Cognitive Function, Dementia, and Alzheimer’s Disease: What the Science Says — NCCIH.NIH.gov · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationDaily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels — FDA.gov · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsNiacin — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsCalcium — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
- Böger — 2007The Pharmacodynamics of L-Arginine — The Journal of Nutrition · DOI 10.1093/jn/137.6.1650S · source
- Shiraseb, Asbaghi, Bagheri, Wong, Figueroa, Mirzaei — 2022Effect of L-Arginine Supplementation on Blood Pressure in Adults: a systematic review and dose–response meta-analysis — Advances in Nutrition · DOI 10.1093/advances/nmab155 · PMID 34891179 · source
- Mone, Pansini, Jankauskas et al. — 2022L-Arginine Enhances the Effects of Cardiac Rehabilitation on Physical Performance: new insights for managing cardiovascular patients during the COVID-19 pandemic — Frontiers in Cardiovascular Medicine · DOI 10.3389/fcvm.2022.868521 · source
- Schwedhelm, Maas, Freese et al. — 2008Pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties of oral L-citrulline and L-arginine: impact on nitric oxide metabolism — British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology · DOI 10.1111/j.1365-2125.2007.02990.x · PMID 17662090 · source
- Campbell, Roberts, Kerksick et al. — 2006Pharmacokinetics, safety, and effects on exercise performance of L-arginine α-ketoglutarate in trained adult men — Nutrition, volume 22 · source
- National Library of MedicineL-Arginine alpha-ketoglutarate 2:1 — PubChem CID 76045315, formula C17H34N8O9 — PubChem · CID 76045315 · source
- Suzuki, Morita, Kamimura, Miyazawa — 2016Oral L-citrulline supplementation enhances cycling time trial performance in trained male cyclists — Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition · DOI 10.1186/s12970-016-0117-z · source
- Schierbauer et al. — 2025Effects of L-citrulline supplementation on exercise capacity in healthy young adults — Frontiers in Sports and Active Living · DOI 10.3389/fspor.2025.1627743 · source
- Gough, Sheeran, Shave, Waldron, Jeffries — 2021A critical review of citrulline malate supplementation and exercise performance — European Journal of Applied Physiology · DOI 10.1007/s00421-021-04774-6 · PMID 34417006 · source
- Trexler, Smith-Ryan, Stout et al. — 2015International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: Beta-Alanine — Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition · DOI 10.1186/s12970-015-0090-y · PMID 26175657 · source
- Solis, Cooper, Hobson et al. — 2015Effects of beta-alanine supplementation on brain homocarnosine/carnosine signal and cognitive function: an exploratory study — PLOS ONE · DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0123857 · PMID 25875656 · source
- Ostfeld, Ben-Zeev, Zamir et al. — 2023Effect of Beta-Alanine Supplementation on Cognitive Function in Older Adults — Nutrients, volume 15 · DOI 10.3390/nu15040923 · PMID 36839281 · source
- Shafqat — 2016The effect of L-citrulline supplementation on mood and cognition — a postgraduate thesis, not a peer-reviewed trial — Queen Margaret University eResearch · source
- Ambrogi et al. — 2023A New Challenge for the Old Excipient Calcium Carbonate — Pharmaceutics · DOI 10.3390/pharmaceutics15010300 · source
- National Institute of Standards and TechnologyArginine — C6H14N4O2, 174.2010 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
- National Institute of Standards and Technology2-Oxopentanedioic acid — C5H6O5, 146.0981 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
- National Institute of Standards and TechnologyCitrulline — C6H13N3O3, 175.1857 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
- National Institute of Standards and TechnologyHydrogen chloride — ClH, 36.461 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
- National Institute of Standards and TechnologyMalic acid — C4H6O5, 134.0874 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
- National Institute of Standards and Technologybeta-Alanine — C3H7NO2, 89.0932 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
Who made and checked this VapoCept page
Written from the seller’s panel, the front of the bottle and the sources cited on the page, then reviewed before publication. It is general information for adults and does not replace a conversation with your own clinician.
If your memory or concentration is changing, or you are on medicine for blood pressure or the heart, the first conversation is with your clinician, before the first VapoCept capsule.