U.S. stocking partner for VapoCept30 capsules · 30 days665.5 mg declared, 7 names60-day window from purchase
VapoCeptVapoceptdailySee the packs

VapoCept Ingredients: What Is in Each Capsule

Seven names, five substances, and a milligram figure beside every one of them. This is a label you can actually assess, which is rarer than it should be.

Revised By VapoCept Editorial DeskReviewed by Dr. Mary Cunningham, neuropsychologistReading time 11 min

Quick answer

Each VapoCept capsule holds seven named ingredients, 665.5 mg in total, with no proprietary blend.

Niacin 7.5 mg NE, calcium 18 mg, L-arginine 200 mg, L-arginine AKG 2:1 200 mg, L-citrulline HCl 100 mg, L-citrulline malate 100 mg and beta-alanine 40 mg. That makes five distinct substances.

See the amounts laid out as a label on supplement facts.

In the order the label prints them

Every line

Line 1 of 7Niacin7.5 mg NE declaredA real nutrient dose. Just under half a Daily Value, and the one line on this label that needs no argument.47% of a Daily ValueDaily Value 16 mg NE
Line 2 of 7Calcium18 mg declaredOne point four per cent of a Daily Value. You would need 72 capsules to reach one.1% of a Daily ValueDaily Value 1,300 mg
Line 3 of 7L-Arginine200 mg declaredFree base — the declared weight is the amino acid.10 capsules to reach itStudied at 3.32 g a day — 1.66 g twice daily200 mg of the substance itself
Line 4 of 7L-Arginine AKG200 mg declaredA 2:1 salt — 70.5% of the declared weight is arginine.10 capsules to reach itStudied at 3.32 g a day — 1.66 g twice daily141 mg of the substance itself
Line 5 of 7L-Citrulline HCl100 mg declaredA hydrochloride — 82.8% of the declared weight is citrulline.16 capsules to reach itStudied at 2.4 g a day for seven days82.8 mg of the substance itself
Line 6 of 7L-Citrulline Malate100 mg declaredA malate — 72.3% at the nominal 2:1, less if the ratio is lower.16 capsules to reach itStudied at 2.4 g a day for seven days72.3 mg of the substance itself
Line 7 of 7Beta-Alanine40 mg declaredFree amino acid — the declared weight is the substance.60 capsules to reach itStudied at 2.4 g a day for ten weeks40 mg of the substance itself

Nutrients carry a percent Daily Value. Amino acids carry a capsule count. They are different measures against different references, and a page that ran them together would be comparing unlike things.

How the capsule counts are derived →How the delivered weights are derived →

Measured against a Daily Value

The two nutrients

The two lines on this label that are nutrients rather than amino acids. The Daily Value is the FDA’s current figure for adults and children four and over.
LinePer capsule% Daily ValueThe Daily ValueWhat to notice
Niacin7.5 mg NE47%16 mg NEA real nutrient dose. Just under half a Daily Value, and the one line on this label that needs no argument.
Calcium
as Calcium Carbonate
18 mg1%1,300 mgOne point four per cent of a Daily Value. You would need 72 capsules to reach one.

Scroll this table sideways →

Niacin, 7.5 mg NE

The best line on this label. Niacin is an established nutrient with a Daily Value of 16 mg NE, so 7.5 mg is 47% of a day's intake. That is a sensible amount, it is well under the 35 mg upper limit for supplemental niacin, and nothing on this site argues with it.

Two things the label does not say. It does not name the form — nicotinic acid and nicotinamide behave differently, and only the first causes the well-known flush, which the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements describes as typically appearing from 30 to 50 mg upward. At 7.5 mg NE neither form would be expected to flush, so this is a completeness point rather than a safety one.

It also does not connect niacin to the memory claim, and it is worth being careful here. Niacin deficiency causes pellagra, whose symptoms include dementia. That does not mean supplemental niacin improves memory in people who are not deficient, and we found no evidence that it does.

Calcium, 18 mg as calcium carbonate

The oddest line on the label. Eighteen milligrams against a Daily Value of 1,300 mg is 1.4% — you would need 72 capsules to reach one Daily Value, or roughly two and a half bottles a day.

Calcium carbonate also has a second life in pharmaceutical manufacturing. A 2023 review in Pharmaceutics describes it as “a safe excipient traditionally used as a diluent for directly compressible tablets”, with roles as a diluent, a quick dissolution agent, a buffer and a bulking agent.

We cannot tell you which job it is doing in this capsule, and we are not going to imply we can. What we can say is that at 1.4% of a Daily Value it is not making a nutritional contribution, and that declaring it as a nutrient adds a row to the panel.

Two entries, 340.9 mg

Arginine, and arginine AKG

L-arginine is a semi-essential amino acid and the direct substrate for nitric oxide synthase. The proposed route to a cognitive effect is real and not exotic: more nitric oxide, more vasodilation, better cerebral perfusion. That is a legitimate hypothesis and it is why this ingredient is here.

The evidence, honestly summarised:

  • Cognition. The only trial we could find with a cognitive endpoint used 1.66 g twice daily — 3.32 g a day — for four weeks in 72 frail hypertensive older adults, and reported a MoCA difference against placebo.
  • Blood pressure. A 2022 dose–response meta-analysis found significance only at 4 g a day and above, with a systolic reduction of about 9 mmHg at doses up to 9 g, and the effect lost above that.
  • A stated floor. A 2007 review in the Journal of Nutrition states that “daily doses below 2 to 3 g/d appear to be without beneficial effect”.
  • A pharmacokinetic problem. A 2008 study describes oral arginine as “hampered by extensive presystemic elimination due to intestinal arginase activity”.

This label delivers 340.9 mg of arginine across its two entries. Against the 3.32 g cognitive trial that is about a tenth, and against the 2 g floor in the 2007 review it is about a sixth.

The AKG form has a specific gap

The best-known human trial of arginine alpha-ketoglutarate used 12 g a day of a 1:1 salt for eight weeks in resistance-trained men, and measured exercise performance. This label uses a 2:1 salt, which PubChem confirms is a different compound with a different formula. We could not find a human trial of the 2:1 form at all. A 2:1 label should not inherit a 1:1 trial's evidence without saying so.

Two entries, about 155 mg

Citrulline, and citrulline malate

L-citrulline is converted to arginine in the kidney, which bypasses the intestinal arginase problem described above. That makes it the more sensible of the two ingredients for raising plasma arginine, and there is direct evidence for it.

A 2008 pharmacokinetic study found that oral citrulline “dose-dependently increased AUC and Cmax of plasma L-arginine concentration more effectively than L-arginine”. Its highest dose was 3 g twice daily, and notably it found that flow-mediated dilation was not improved by any treatment — a null result worth reporting alongside the positive one.

For a performance endpoint, the lowest dose with a reported effect that we could open is 2.4 g a day for seven days in trained cyclists. A 2025 trial at about 7.4 g a day found no improvement in time to exhaustion, which is a useful reminder that the literature is not uniformly positive at any dose.

For cognition specifically: we could not find a peer-reviewed human trial. The only human work we located is a 2016 postgraduate thesis at 1.5 g a day in 16 people, which reported mood changes within groups but no statistical significance against placebo. Published citrulline-and-memory work we saw is in rodents.

This label delivers 82.8 mg from the hydrochloride and between 56.6 and 72.3 mg from the malate, depending on a ratio the label does not state. At best, about 155 mg.

The unstated ratio

Citrulline malate is normally described as 2:1, and a 2021 critical review reports NMR analysis finding that “many CM manufacturers failed to reach the purported ratios” — most near 1.6:1, some as low as 1.1:1. That review's standard trial dose is a single 8 g acute dose, and its overall verdict is that citrulline malate “may, albeit not consistently” help muscular endurance-strength performance, with “little evidence to advocate its use” for power, maximal strength or recovery.

40 mg

Beta-alanine

Beta-alanine is the rate-limiting precursor to carnosine, a dipeptide that buffers pH inside muscle. That is what it is for, that is what its position stand is about, and it is a genuinely well-evidenced ingredient in its own category.

The International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand states that “four weeks of beta-alanine supplementation (4–6 g daily) significantly augments muscle carnosine concentrations” and that this improves performance “with more pronounced effects in open end-point tasks/time trials lasting 1 to 4 min”. None of its conclusions mentions cognition.

There is a cognitive literature and it disagrees with itself. A 2015 exploratory trial at 6.4 g a day for 28 days found no effect on response times or accuracy across a Stroop test, a Sternberg paradigm and an RVIP task, and no change in the brain homocarnosine/carnosine signal. A 2023 trial at 2.4 g a day for ten weeks in 100 older adults found a MoCA improvement, but only in the subgroup who started below 27, with no effect on anxiety, mood or physical performance.

This label declares 40 mg. Against the lower of those two cognitive doses that is one sixtieth, and against the position stand's performance dose it is one hundredth.

One more way to hold it: a whole thirty-capsule bottle contains 1.2 g of beta-alanine, and the lowest studied daily dose is 2.4 g. A month's supply is half of one studied day.

The category question

What this formula actually is

Set the doses aside and look at the list itself. L-arginine, arginine alpha-ketoglutarate, citrulline, citrulline malate and beta-alanine is a recognisable combination, and it is not a nootropic stack. It is the standard nitric-oxide and exercise combination that appears in pre-workout products.

That is not a gotcha and it is not automatically wrong. The cerebral blood flow hypothesis is real, the same vasodilation that helps a muscle could in principle help a brain, and a formulator choosing these ingredients for a cognitive product has an argument available.

Two things weaken it. First, beta-alanine does not fit that argument at all — carnosine buffering inside muscle is not a blood flow mechanism, and its own position stand makes no cognitive claim. Second, the nitric oxide argument needs the doses to be in range, and at 341 mg of arginine and 155 mg of citrulline they are an order of magnitude below every trial we could find.

So the fair reading is that this is a plausible idea assembled at implausible amounts, rather than an incoherent formula. Those are different criticisms and the first is the accurate one.

The mechanisms, in full →The dose arithmetic →

The gaps

What the label does not tell you

  • The Other Ingredients line, so the capsule material and every excipient are unknown to this site.
  • Whether the capsule is gelatin or HPMC, which decides whether the vegetarian seal in the marketing assets holds.
  • Any allergen statement.
  • The molar ratio of the citrulline malate.
  • Which form the niacin takes.
  • Whether the arginine AKG is the 2:1 described by PubChem's CID 76045315 or something else marketed under the same name.
  • Any trial of the finished formula.

The first two are the ones a buyer with a dietary restriction would most want, and the last is the one the front of the bottle most implies. All of them are things a manufacturer knows and could publish in a paragraph.

The panel, and its provenance →Cautions and interactions →What testing was supplied →

See the VapoCept packs

Two, three or six bottles, priced plainly, with a 60-day window that runs from purchase. Read the capsule count first, then decide.

Shipping is calculated at checkout. This site publishes no figure it was not given.

Sources

References

Every source below was opened and read during this build. Nothing here cites a study we did not read, and no identifier on this site was written from memory. Where a claim could not be verified, the page says so instead of using it.

  1. U.S. Government Publishing Office21 CFR 101.93 — Certain types of statements for dietary supplements — eCFR.gov · source
  2. U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationSmall Entity Compliance Guide on Structure/Function Claims — FDA.gov · source
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration — 2000Regulations on Statements Made for Dietary Supplements Concerning the Effect of the Product on the Structure or Function of the Body, final rule — 65 Federal Register 1000 · 65 FR 1000 · source
  4. U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationGuidance for Industry: Substantiation for Dietary Supplement Claims Made Under Section 403(r)(6) — FDA.gov · source
  5. U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationQuestions and Answers on Dietary Supplements — FDA.gov · source
  6. U.S. Federal Trade Commission — 2022Health Products Compliance Guidance — FTC.gov · source
  7. National Institute on AgingCognitive Health and Older Adults — NIA.NIH.gov · source
  8. National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthDietary Supplements and Cognitive Function, Dementia, and Alzheimer’s Disease: What the Science Says — NCCIH.NIH.gov · source
  9. U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationDaily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels — FDA.gov · source
  10. NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsNiacin — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
  11. NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsCalcium — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
  12. Böger — 2007The Pharmacodynamics of L-Arginine — The Journal of Nutrition · DOI 10.1093/jn/137.6.1650S · source
  13. Shiraseb, Asbaghi, Bagheri, Wong, Figueroa, Mirzaei — 2022Effect of L-Arginine Supplementation on Blood Pressure in Adults: a systematic review and dose–response meta-analysis — Advances in Nutrition · DOI 10.1093/advances/nmab155 · PMID 34891179 · source
  14. Mone, Pansini, Jankauskas et al. — 2022L-Arginine Enhances the Effects of Cardiac Rehabilitation on Physical Performance: new insights for managing cardiovascular patients during the COVID-19 pandemic — Frontiers in Cardiovascular Medicine · DOI 10.3389/fcvm.2022.868521 · source
  15. Schwedhelm, Maas, Freese et al. — 2008Pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties of oral L-citrulline and L-arginine: impact on nitric oxide metabolism — British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology · DOI 10.1111/j.1365-2125.2007.02990.x · PMID 17662090 · source
  16. Campbell, Roberts, Kerksick et al. — 2006Pharmacokinetics, safety, and effects on exercise performance of L-arginine α-ketoglutarate in trained adult men — Nutrition, volume 22 · source
  17. National Library of MedicineL-Arginine alpha-ketoglutarate 2:1 — PubChem CID 76045315, formula C17H34N8O9 — PubChem · CID 76045315 · source
  18. Suzuki, Morita, Kamimura, Miyazawa — 2016Oral L-citrulline supplementation enhances cycling time trial performance in trained male cyclists — Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition · DOI 10.1186/s12970-016-0117-z · source
  19. Schierbauer et al. — 2025Effects of L-citrulline supplementation on exercise capacity in healthy young adults — Frontiers in Sports and Active Living · DOI 10.3389/fspor.2025.1627743 · source
  20. Gough, Sheeran, Shave, Waldron, Jeffries — 2021A critical review of citrulline malate supplementation and exercise performance — European Journal of Applied Physiology · DOI 10.1007/s00421-021-04774-6 · PMID 34417006 · source
  21. Trexler, Smith-Ryan, Stout et al. — 2015International Society of Sports Nutrition position stand: Beta-Alanine — Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition · DOI 10.1186/s12970-015-0090-y · PMID 26175657 · source
  22. Solis, Cooper, Hobson et al. — 2015Effects of beta-alanine supplementation on brain homocarnosine/carnosine signal and cognitive function: an exploratory study — PLOS ONE · DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0123857 · PMID 25875656 · source
  23. Ostfeld, Ben-Zeev, Zamir et al. — 2023Effect of Beta-Alanine Supplementation on Cognitive Function in Older Adults — Nutrients, volume 15 · DOI 10.3390/nu15040923 · PMID 36839281 · source
  24. Shafqat — 2016The effect of L-citrulline supplementation on mood and cognition — a postgraduate thesis, not a peer-reviewed trial — Queen Margaret University eResearch · source
  25. Ambrogi et al. — 2023A New Challenge for the Old Excipient Calcium Carbonate — Pharmaceutics · DOI 10.3390/pharmaceutics15010300 · source
  26. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyArginine — C6H14N4O2, 174.2010 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
  27. National Institute of Standards and Technology2-Oxopentanedioic acid — C5H6O5, 146.0981 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
  28. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyCitrulline — C6H13N3O3, 175.1857 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
  29. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyHydrogen chloride — ClH, 36.461 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
  30. National Institute of Standards and TechnologyMalic acid — C4H6O5, 134.0874 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
  31. National Institute of Standards and Technologybeta-Alanine — C3H7NO2, 89.0932 g/mol — NIST Chemistry WebBook · source
What these images are

The supplied ingredient stills

Six studio stills came with this product's marketing assets. They are presented here with a caption that says what they are, because the alternative — captioning them as photographs of what is in this capsule — would be something we cannot support.

White crystalline powder

A marketing still. Purified amino acids are typically white crystalline powders, which is consistent with five of the seven entries on this label, and consistency is not identification.

Clear crystal shards

A marketing still. Nothing supplied to this site identifies which ingredient, if any, this is meant to depict.

Fine grey powder

A marketing still. Calcium carbonate is a white to off-white powder; we are not going to tell you this is it.

A studio still of a white crystalline powder, supplied with this product's marketing assets
Supplied marketing still. This is not a photograph of the contents of a VapoCept capsule, and nothing supplied to this site identifies which ingredient it is intended to represent.

This is a small point and it is the kind of thing that separates a product page from a catalogue. Ingredient stills in this industry are usually stock or rendered imagery chosen for texture. Captioning one “L-citrulline” would assert something nobody told us.

The figures we do have →What testing was supplied →

Six callouts, seven ingredients

What the marketing images show

A VapoCept marketing image titled Inside VapoCept, showing the bottle surrounded by six molecule callouts
One of two marketing images supplied to this site. It shows the front of the bottle and six molecule callouts.

Both supplied listing images carry the same set of callouts: niacin, calcium, L-arginine, L-arginine AKG 2:1, L-citrulline HCl and beta-alanine. That is six.

The brief lists seven ingredients. The one absent from both images is L-citrulline malate — which, at 100 mg, is tied for third-largest entry on the label.

A missing callout is a design decision rather than a labelling fault, and it is worth noticing on a page that asks you to count things. It is also the entry whose molar ratio the label does not state, which makes it the single least-described ingredient in the formula from two directions at once.

These images are also where the front-of-bottle claim was read from. They are the only view of the product this site was given, and no back panel accompanied them.

What the front of the bottle says →The five conflicts →

Colophon

Who made and checked this VapoCept page

Written byVapoCept Editorial Deskfor Vapoceptdaily, U.S. stocking partner
Reviewed byDr. Mary CunninghamNeuropsychologist
Revisedthe date moves when the page changes

Written from the seller’s panel, the front of the bottle and the sources cited on the page, then reviewed before publication. It is general information for adults and does not replace a conversation with your own clinician.

If your memory or concentration is changing, or you are on medicine for blood pressure or the heart, the first conversation is with your clinician, before the first VapoCept capsule.

VapoCept — 30 capsules, 30 days665.5 mg declared, 7 names · from $49 a bottleSee the packs